Environmental health degree

To become an environmental health professional registered with the EHRB, you normally need to complete one of the degrees we accredit. There are a number of universities offering accredited environmental health degrees in the UK and abroad, including undergraduate and postgraduate courses on a full-time or part-time basis.

For school or college leavers, entry requirements vary from university to university. Alternatively, entry can be gained through an appropriate GNVQ, BTEC or Foundation degree qualification.

For non-traditional applicants, there are flexible routes into the BSc degree, including a one-year science access or Foundation degree. People who already have a BSc in another field may be able to gain entry to an accredited postgraduate MSc course.

Degrees in Environmental Health/Science  

Approved centres offering our qualifications and Programme Course Director contact details:
 

BSc degree

Cardiff

Cardiff Metropolitan University (formerly UWIC)
School of Health Sciences
Western Avenue, Llandaff
Cardiff
CF5 2YB

Telephone: 0292 020 5786
Contact: Gayle Davies
gdavis@cardiffmet.ac.uk 

Leeds

Leeds Beckett University*
Faculty of Health & Social Sciences
City Site
Leeds
LS2 9EN

Telephone: 0113 812 3847
Contact: Hayley Robinson-Mitchell
H.S.Robinson-Mitchell@leedsmet.ac.uk 

Liverpool

Liverpool John Moores University*
Centre for Public Health
Henry Cotton Campus
15-21 Webster Street
Liverpool
L3 2ET

Telephone: 0151 231 4461
Contact: Mr Graeme Mitchell
g.k.mitchell@ljmu.ac.uk 

London

Middlesex University*
School of Health and Social Sciences
Hendon Campus,
The Burroughs
London
NW4 4BT

Telephone: 020 8411 5227
Contact: Ruth Plume
r.plume@mdx.ac.uk 

Ulster

University of Ulster
School of the Built Environment
Jordanstown, Newtownabbey
Northern Ireland
BT37 0QB

Telephone: 0289 036 8395
Contact: Ursula Walsh
u.walsh@ulster.ac.uk 

Weston

Weston College*
Knightstone Road
Weston-Super-Mare
BS23 2AL

Contact: David Lown
Telephone: 0193 441 1516
David.Lown@weston.ac.uk 

Wolverhampton

University of Wolverhampton*
Faculty of Science &
Engineering
Wulfruna Street
Wolverhampton
WV1 1LY

Telephone: 0190 232 3506
Contact: Andy Lucas
andy.lucas@wlv.ac.uk 

Courses outside the UK - Accredited BSc Courses

Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)

Jalan Othman
4600 Petaling Jaya
Selangor
MALAYSIA

Contact: Professor Rodziah Ismael
rodziah_fsk@salam.uitm.edu.my
Accredited Diploma and top up to BSc also operates at UiTM

MAHSA College


Level 6, Block A, Pusat Bandar Damansara
Damansara Heights
50490 Kuala Lumpur
MALAYSIA

Contact: Mr Haw ai Beng
aibeng@mahsa.edu.my 

Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)


Department of Community Health
Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences
Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang, Selangor
MALAYSIA

Contact: Prof. Dr. Zailina Hashim
zailina@medic.upm.edu.my 

Abu Dhabi University


PO Box 59911
Abu Dhabi
UAE

Contact: Fares M. Howari, Ph.d
Chair of Department of Applied Sciences & Mathematics
Managing Director, Abu Dhabi University Center of Excellence
for Environment Health and Safety
Professor of Environmental Studies
College of Arts and Science
Fares.howari@adu.ac.ae 

University of Kuala Lumpur (UNIKL)


Institute of Medical Health Science
A1 – 1 Jalan TKS 1
Taman Kajang Sentral
43000 Kajang
Selangor
MALAYSIA

Contact: Arvind Bala Krishnan
arvind@mestech.unikl.edu.my 

* Part-time courses offered
**Distance learning courses


 

MSc degree

Birmingham

University of Birmingham*
Division of EH and Risk Management
University of Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham
B15 2TT
 
Telephone: 0121 414 5556
Contact: Zena Lynch
Email: z.lynch@bham.ac.uk 

Bristol

University of the West of England*
Faculty of Health & Applied Sciences
Frenchay Campus, Coldharbour Lane
Bristol
BS16 1QY

MSc on Campus
Contact 0117 3283465
Contact: Sharon Humphries
Email: Sharon2.Humphries@uwe.ac.uk 

MSc by Distance Learning
Telephone: 0117 328 7152
Contact: Sian Buckley
Email: Sian.Buckley@uwe.ac.uk  

MSci Environmental Health and Practice
MSc Environmental Health Professional Practice

Integrated Professional Development
(Environmental Health) Programmes
Telephone: 0117 328 7561
Contact: Phil Gilbert
Email: Phil.Gilbert@uwe.ac.uk 

Derby

University of Derby*
University of Derby Online Learning (UDOL)
Enterprise Centre
Bridge Street
Derby
DE1 3LD
 
0133 259 1979
Contact: Alan Whitfield
Email: a.whitfield@derby.ac.uk 

Leeds

Leeds Beckett University*
Faculty of Health & Social Sciences
City Site
Leeds
LS2 9EN
 
0113 812 3072
Contact: Stephen Mole
Email: s.mole@leedsmet.ac.uk 

London

Middlesex University*
School of Health and Social Sciences
Hendon Campus
The Burroughs
London
NW4 4BT
 
020 8411 2695
Contact: Adam Choonara
Email: a.choonara@mdx.ac.uk 

Northumbria*

Northumbria University
Faculty of Engineering and Environment
Ellison Building, Ellison Place
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE1 8ST 

Telephone: 0191 243 7644
Contact: Simon Griffiths
Email: simon.griffiths@northumbria.ac.uk 

* Part-time courses offered

Please note MSc degree centres suitable
for graduates with appropriate science degrees. 
 

 


 

Foundation degree

Weston-super-Mare

Weston College *
Knightstone Road
Weston-super-Mare
BS23 2AL

Contact: Nahum Kidan
Telephone: 01934 411411
Email: nahum.kidan@weston.ac.uk  

* Part-time courses offered

 


 

print Print | email Email